top of page

Six Nations Rugby at The Anchor - 2023

What is the Six Nations?

The Six Nations Rugby tournament is one of the most prestigious and exciting competitions in the sport of rugby. It is an annual event that features six of the best national teams from Europe: England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland, and Wales.

The tournament starts on the first weekend of February and runs for six weeks, with each team playing every other team once. The team that finishes with the most points at the end of the tournament is declared the winner and earns the title of Six Nations champion.

One of the unique aspects of the tournament is the "Calcutta Cup," which is contested annually between England and Scotland. The cup is named after the Indian city of Calcutta, where it was made in 1879. The history and tradition of this rivalry adds extra excitement to the match between these two teams.

The tournament also includes the "Millennium Trophy," contested between Ireland and England, and the "Giuseppe Garibaldi Trophy," contested between France and Italy. These trophies add even more to the competitive spirit of the tournament.

The Six Nations tournament is known for its passionate fans and intense atmosphere. The stadiums are always packed with supporters of each team, creating an electric atmosphere that makes for an unforgettable experience. The tournament is also renowned for its high-level of play, with some of the best players in the world competing for their respective countries.

In recent years, the tournament has been dominated by Ireland and Wales, with both teams winning multiple championships. However, the competition is always fierce, and it is not uncommon for upsets to occur.

In 2021 tournament was impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic, with some matches played behind closed doors or with limited capacity crowds. But the tournament still was very exciting with a lot of tight matches and a lot of drama. The tournament ended with England winning the title, breaking a long-standing drought and winning it's first title since 2017.

The 2022 tournament is expected to be even more exciting, with all teams looking to improve upon their performances from last year. The tournament will once again be a showcase of the best players and teams in the sport of rugby, and it is a must-watch event for any fan of the sport.

When are the games?



Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page